Ai Weiwei – the german contibution in the french pavilion Venice 2013

Ai Weiwei, Bang, installation view the German contribution in the French pavilion Venice 2013, courtesy of the artist and Gallery neugerriemschneider, Berlin. © Roman Mensing in cooperation with Thorsten Arendt, artdoc.de.

“After returning to Beijing from the U.S., where he had lived from 1981 until 1993, Ai Weiwei began to explore the artistic and cultural traditions of his native country – a pursuit that had previously been banned since the Cultural Revolution. He studied and collected antiques and eventually started integrating them into his own work, which had by then taken on a strongly conceptual aspect. Ai Weiwei not only examined the mechanisms of the international art and antiques markets and the associated export of cultural values and historical knowledge;

the official catalog of Germany’s pavilion at the Venice Biennale festival of art 2013

DEPA_BOOK_Cover_D_FINAL

 We are pleased to announce the upcoming release of the official publication of the German Pavilion at the Biennale di Venezia 2013!

Edited by curator Susanne Gaensheimer, the 240-page, cloth-bound catalogue will be available as of May 28, 2013 and is published by Gestalten, Berlin.

Eleven international authors—curators, artists, collectors, and critics as well as scholars from the fields of art history, politics, migration research, philosophy, and cultural studies—were invited to take part in this interdisciplinary discussion on cultural and sociopolitical aspects of the German contribution to this year’s Biennale di Venezia.

Ai Weiwei – Interlacing in Sao Paulo

From February 7 to April 14, 2013 the Museu da Imagem e do Som (MIS) Sao Paulo is presenting the exhibition Interlacing by the Chinese artist Ai Weiwei. Curated by Urs Staehl, Interlacing was developed as a coproduction by the Fotomuseum Winterthur and the Jeu de Paume, Paris. The exhibition was also on view at Kunsthaus Graz. As the first major photography and video exhibition of the artist’s work, Interlacing brings together a range of photographic documentation to convey a complex image of the “artist as network.”

The exhibition catalogue was published in 2011 by Steidl.

http://www.mis-sp.org.br/icox/icox.php?mdl=mis&op=programacao_interna&id_event=1208

Ai Weiwei – der deutsche Beitrag im französischen Pavillon Venedig 2013

Ai Weiwei, Bang, Installationsansicht deutscher Beitrag im französischen Pavillon Venedig 2013, courtesy of the artist and Gallery neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: © Roman Mensing in Zusammenarbeit mit Thorsten Arendt, artdoc.de.

“Nach seiner Rückkehr aus den USA (wo er sich von 1981 bis 1993 aufgehalten hatte) nach Peking begann Ai Weiwei, sich mit den künstlerischen und kulturellen Traditionen seines Landes zu befassen – eine Beschäftigung, die bis dahin seit der Kulturrevolution unmöglich gewesen war. Er fing an, Antiquitäten zu studieren, zu sammeln und schließlich in seine in der Zwischenzeit stark konzeptionell gewordene Arbeit zu integrieren. Dabei reflektierte Ai Weiwei nicht nur die Mechanismen des internationalen Kunst- und Antiquitätenmarkts und den damit verbundenen Ausverkauf kultureller Werte und historischen Wissens, sondern

Die offizielle Begleitpulikation zum Beitrag des deutschen Pavillons auf der Biennale di Venezia 2013

DEPA_BOOK_Cover_D_FINAL

Wir freuen uns, die Veröffentlichung der offiziellen Begleitpublikation zum Beitrag des deutschen Pavillons auf der Biennale di Venezia 2013 ankündigen zu dürfen!

Von Kuratorin Susanne Gaensheimer herausgegeben, erscheint der 240 Seiten starke Katalog im Leineneinband am 28. Mai 2013 beim Berliner Gestalten Verlag.

11 internationale Autoren, darunter Kuratoren, Künstler, Sammler und Kritiker, sowie Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen der Kunstgeschichte, Politik, Migrationsforschung, Philosophie und Kulturwissenschaften wurden eingeladen, kulturelle und sozialpolitische Inhalte des deutschen Beitrags auf der diesjährigen Biennale di Venezia interdisziplinär zu diskutieren.

Ai Weiwei – Interlacing in Sao Paulo

Von 7. Februar bis 14. April 2013 zeigt das Museu da Imagem e do Som (MIS) Sao Paulo die Ausstellung Interlacing des chinesischen Künstlers Ai Weiwei. Kuratiert von Urs Staehl entstand Interlacing als eine Koproduktion des Fotomuseum Winterthur und der Jeu de Paume, Paris und war außerdem im Kunsthaus Graz zu sehen. Als erste große Fotografie- und Videoausstellung führt Interlacing fotografische Dokumentationen aus unterschiedlichen Sujets des chinesischen Künstlers zusammen, um ein vielschichtiges Bild des “Künstlers als Netzwerk” zeichnen.

Der Katalog zur Ausstellung erschien 2011 bei Steidl.

 http://www.mis-sp.org.br/icox/icox.php?mdl=mis&op=programacao_interna&id_event=1208